Serei bem direto e dizer que eu não conheço todas as músicas do Springsteen mesmo faltando quase um mês para ir ao show.

10) Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out

A música fala sobre a formação da E Street Band e até hoje ninguém sabe, nem o próprio Springsteen, o que significa o título. “When the change was made uptown and the Big Man joined the band, from the coastline to the city, all the little pretties raise their hands.”

9) We Take Care of Our Own

Frustração sobre o fato que as pessoas não se ajudam tanto nos tempos de crise econômica. A música lembra ‘Born in the USA’ por conter letra (não tão) patriota em tom irônico. “Where’s the love that has not forsaken me. Where’s the work that set my hands, my soul free. Where’s the spirit to reign, reign over me. Where’s the promise, from sea to shining sea. Wherever this flag is flown, we take care of our own.”

8) Born in the USA

A música menciona os problemas que os veteranos da guerra do Vietnã encontraram ao voltarem para os Estados Unidos. Essa é uma das músicas mais mal interpretada de todos os tempos, por se deixaram levar pelo título e achar que é uma música patriota. “Got in a little hometown jam, so they put a rifle in my hand, sent me off to a foreign land to go and kill the yellow man.” 

7) Cover Me

Não precisa de explicação. “The times are tough now, just getting tougher. This old world is rough, it’s just getting rougher. Cover me, come on baby, cover me. Well I’m looking for a lover who will come on in and cover me.”

6) I’m Goin’ Down

Uma música divertida com ótimo solo do Clarence. “We get dressed up and we go out, baby, for the night. We come home early burning, burning in some fire fight. I’m sick and tired of you setting me up, setting me up just to knock-a knock-a knock-a me down.”

5) Bobby Jean

Pelo nome não remeter a um sexo específico, a música pode ganhar vários significados, porém ela foi escrita sobre quando um grande amigo e guitarrista deixou a banda. Destaque para outro solo do Clarence ao fim da música. “We told each other that we were the wildest, the wildest things we’d ever seen, now I wished you would have told me. I wished I could have talked to you, just to say goodbye, Bobby Jean.”

4) No Surrender

Essa frase, para mim, resume a música e pode te pegar de surpresa se tive medo de seguir seu coração “Well, we bursted out of class, had to get away from those fools. We learned more from a three-minute record, baby, than we ever learned in school. Tonight I hear the neighborhood drummer sound, I can feel my heart begin to pound. You say you’re tired and you just want to close your eyes and follow your dreams down”

3) Dancing in the Dark

Tirando o fato do vídeo ter a Courtney Cox no início da carreira, é definitivamente a música que me fez gostar do Bruce. A música fala da dificuldade de conseguir escrever uma música e ainda sob pressão da gravadora, o que acabou virando um de seus maiores sucessos. “I check my look in the mirror, I wanna change my clothes, my hair, my face. Man I ain’t getting nowhere, I’m just living in a dump like this. There’s something happening somewhere, baby I just know that there is.”

2) Thunder Road

Ouça até o fim e você entenderá. “It’s a town full of losers and I’m pulling out of here to win.”

1) Born to Run

Perfeita e sem perder o ritmo do início ao fim e que sempre caracteriza o Springsteen com seus sonhos de se chegar a um lugar em que sonhamos e serve de inspiração para milhares de artistas. “Together Wendy, we’ll live with the sadness, I’ll love you with all the madness in my soul. Someday girl I don’t know when we’re going to get to that place where we really want to go and we’ll walk in the sun, but until then, tramps like us, baby, we were born to run.”

